Helpless

Helpless in a haze of hatred,
self loathing comes
with inability to express

anything but fear
for the privilege

of shriveled authority
in the shadow of contempt.

Smaller I become,
voice swallowed washed
down with a healthy dose

of salt,
put in my place
I can do nothing but crawl
back under

in these hiding places of a child,
away from accusing eyes

and fits of rage.

BAN June 28, 2015 11:13 pm

About bethbluemusings

I wanna quit my job, peddle my free verse by the side of the road...no money you say? No worries...it's free, man...the verses are free....
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Helpless

  1. cooldragon says:

    Hold tight, Beth, there those of us who understand, a least a little, and love you. THis is a sad but superbly written piece.

    Like

  2. Beth I could cry, your words scream such sadness from the past, that has caused such damage. It could easily be my words, my inner child is hurt beyond pain, I’m 48 and only just beginning to be able to mend myself with external help. Trauma undealt with causes anger and regression. Sending love, you’re an amazing woman. Don’t lose sight of that xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Trauma is like this, sometimes I think I have her by the hand, nuturing her…and the next minute, she’s run off and I can’t imagine how I will again gain her trust back again…I dunno, it’s folks like you who give me hope…someday. Love ya…good to hear (see) your voice again ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. paulsands says:

    Its sometimes difficult to “like” words like this. From out of your travails come strong words that mask a strong woman

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment